The Thirteenth Tale Quotes by Diane Setterfield

9780743298025_custom-7a17652cf7e6e04aa7f13cea86b4a83a6ef688b6-s6-c10

“I have always been a reader; I have read at every stage of my life, and there has never been a time when reading was not my greatest joy.”

***

“Of course I loved books more than people.”

***

“There are too many books in the world to read in a single lifetime; you have to draw the line somewhere.”

***

“A good story is always more dazzling than a broken piece of truth.”

***

“What better place to kill time than a library?”

***

“A birth is not really a beginning. Our lives at the start are not really our own but only the continuation of someone else’s story.”

***

“What better way to get to know someone than through her choice and treatment of books?”

***

“You are at liberty to say nothing, if that is what you want. But silence is not a natural environment for stories. They need words. Without them they grown pale, sicken and die. And then they haunt you.”

***

“For me to see is to read. It has always been that way.”

***

“Once upon a time there was a fairy godmother, but the rest of the time there was none. This story is about one of those other times.”

***

“Sometimes when you open the door to the past, what you confront is your destiny.”

***

“For at eight o’clock the world came to an end. It was reading time.The hours between eight in the evening and one or two in the morning have always been my magic hours. Against the blue candlewick bedspread the white pages of my open book, illuminated by a circle of lamplight, were the gateway to another world.”

***

“I don’t pretend reality is the same for everyone.”

***

“opening the book, i inhaled. the smell of old books, so sharp, so dry you can taste it.”

***

“In this cruel world kindness should always be repaid.”

***

“Sometimes you can know things. Things about yourself. Things from before you can remember.”

***

“There is something about words. In expert hands, manipulated deftly, they take you prisoner.”

***

“There are times when the human face and body can express the yearning of the heart so accurately that you can, as they say, read them like a book. Do not abandon me.”

***

“…when people are expecting to see nothing that is usually what they see.”

***

“Do you know the feeling when you start reading a new book before the membrane of the last one has had time to close behind you? You leave the previous book with ideas and themes–characters even–caught in the fibers of your clothes, and when you open the new book, they are still with you.”

***

“I read old novels. The reason is simple: I prefer proper endings.”

***

“I still believe in stories. I still forget myself when I am in the middle of a good book. Books are for me, it must be said, the most important thing.”

***

“Families are webs. Impossible to touch one part of it without setting the rest vibrating.”

 

Leave a Reply

