Quotes about cats from great writers

BnE4gHjIUAAHx0x

‘Authors like cats because they are such quiet, lovable, wise creatures, and cats like authors for the same reasons.’

– Robertson Davies

paw

mark

‘When a man loves cats, I am his friend and comrade, without further introduction.’

– Mark Twain

paw

‘I am glad you have a Cat, but I do not believe it is so remarkable a cat as My Cat.’

– T. S. Eliot (letter to his godson, 1931)

paw

neil

‘Little one, I would like to see anyone — prophet, king or God — persuade a thousand cats to do anything at the same time.’

– Neil Gaiman

paw

‘When I play with my cat, who knows if I am not more of a pastime to her than she is to me?’

– Montaigne

paw

Doris

‘If a fish is the movement of water embodied, given shape, then cat is a diagram and pattern of subtle air.’

– Doris Lessing

paw

‘How we behave toward cats here below determines our place in heaven.’

– Robert Heinlein

paw

Ernest

‘A cat has absolute emotional honesty: human beings, for one reason or another, may hide their feelings, but a cat does not.’

– Ernest Hemingway

paw

‘Cats will amusingly tolerate humans only until someone comes up with a tin opener that can be operated with a paw.’

– Terry Pratchett

paw

jean

‘I love cats because I enjoy my home; and little by little, they become its visible soul.’

– Jean Cocteau

paw

Stephen

‘Cats were the gangsters of the animal world, living outside the law and often dying there. There were a great many of them who never grew old by the fire.’

– Stephen King

paw

jack

‘Holding up my, purring cat to the moon, I sighed.’

– Jack Kerouac

paw

‘I think all cats are wild. They only act tame if there’s a saucer of milk in it for them.’

– Douglas Adams

paw

edward

‘Books. Cats. Life is good.’

– Edward Gorey

paw

william

‘The cat does not offer services. The cat offers itself.’

– William S. Burroughs

paw

‘I wish I could write as mysterious as a cat.’

– Edgar Allan Poe

paw

colette

‘There are no ordinary cats.’

– Colette

paw

carlos

‘Outside, the north wind, coming and passing, swelling and dying, lifts the frozen sand drives it a-rattle against the lidless windows and we may dear sit stroking the cat stroking the cat and smiling sleepily, prrrr.’

– William Carlos Williams

paw

carol

‘I write so much because my cat sits on my lap. She purrs so I don’t want to get up. She’s so much more calming than my husband.’

– Joyce Carol Oates

paw

16

Source: buzzfeed, interestingliterature

One thought on “Quotes about cats from great writers

Leave a Reply

